Databases

The library provides access to the following databases. Unless otherwise noted, the databases are only accessible from the computers in the library, and are not available outside of the library. It is not possible to save materials from the library computers, but any information can be printed out for the standard library rate of 15 cents per page. Please be aware of the number of pages of your document before printing, as patrons will be charged for all pages printed. For assistance with any of the databases, please speak with the reference librarian.

HeinOnline: The premier source for searching and accessing full text articles from law reviews and legal journals. Nearly all major American law reviews are covered, with archives going back to the early 1900s for some titles. HeinOnline also provides access to a number of Federal government materials, including the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, The U.S. Code, the U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and Presidential and Supreme Court documents.

CEB Onlaw: Provides California specific practice materials on a wide range of legal topics, including criminal, family, probate, real property, civil litigation, business and employment law. The database allows for full text searching and contains numerous sample forms to download. CEB Login Link The link will lead to registration and a request for access. If patron does not have a California Bar number, then enter N/A in the BAR# field and will receive the same CEB Pro access. Please note that all patrons will need to wait for the confirming email from CEB before having full access. Normally, this takes one business day. Access to CEB Pro will be available through Monday, September 7, 2020.

WestlawNext: A comprehensive source for accessing cases, laws and administrative materials nationwide. Patrons in the library can search and access all California cases and laws, as well as all other state and federal sources. WestlawNext also provides the KeyCite service, which checks all cases and statutes for validity.

Nolo Legal Database: A database with full-text access to self-help guides for people inexperienced with legal issues. Written in plain English, these books provide great step-by-step and informational guides for non-attorneys faced with legal issues. Some widely used titles include: Fight your Ticket and Win in California, Everybody’s Guide to Small Claims Court in California, The Guardianship Book for California, How to Probate an Estate in California, The California Landlord’s Law Guide: Evictions, The California Landlord’s Law Book: Rights and Responsibilities, California Tenants’ Rights, and Win Your Lawsuit: Sue in California Superior Court Without a Lawyer.

Please note-this database is available to the public outside of the library for residents of Fresno County. Click on the link above to login from a computer outside the library.